But if you don’t Love Them

images

My children’s pediatrician retired after practicing for 60 years. I didn’t realize yesterday when I needed to take Maggie somewhere new exactly how emotional I was over this. Dr. Derrick loved my babies like they were his own. I felt it in the atmosphere of his office when I walked in for the very first time when Maverick was a year old. I was 22 years old, and I was scared to death. Luckily, Dr. Derrick loved Frank and me, too. He was always genuinely concerned with how our little lives were going. It’s not because we were special. This is the way he treated everyone. It did not matter your race, your economic status, or what you looked like when you walked through those doors – you were his patient. You were important. Last night I kept thinking, “There are so many great doctors in this area; what’s the big deal, Daisy?” The big deal is that no matter how knowledgeable they are, no matter if they treat us with respect, diagnose us correctly, heal our ailments….if they don’t love my kids, if they don’t form that bond, I will never feel totally comfortable. I will never fully trust. A relationship will never form. After all, relationships are the pivotal key to any thing successful happening. It made me sad. Maybe this isn’t a big deal to some, but it is extremely important to me. I am in the people business. People matter. You can be what people perceive as the best coach, the best teacher, the best boss, the best writer, but if you don’t love the people you are serving (because we are here to serve) then it’s simple….you are not. You are not the best. You will never be the best. Your company will never truly be the best. Your school, your class, your team, your business. It will all be in vain. My prayer is to never forget this because people remember how they felt when they were around you. And that matters.

Leave a Reply

