Social Media: How are you using it?

Sometimes, most of the time, social media has such a bad image associated with it. But is it the social media, or is it the user? Something to think about. Is Social Media bad, or is it the way people use it? Last year I started using Twitter as a source to network with peers throughout the educational community. What I found was a group of positive, intelligent individuals that are extremely passionate about their careers and about children. This has been the absolute best thing that has ever happened to my career. At any given moment I am able to connect, learn, ask, share and grow as a teacher. Through social media I met one of my closest, dearest friends. Her name is Summer Diamond, and she is FABULOUS. She loves her job. She loves her family. She loves children. Last year when I started using Twitter as a platform to learn I would have never imagined the relationships that I would form through the “internet” because that’s just weird. Right? I strongly believe that because I made the choice to be positive, to use these Social Media platforms in positive ways that God placed people in my life on purpose. And it’s powerful. I am in grad school, and I try to act tough. So many other people have done this, and it seemed so easy. I don’t want to look like a failure or weak or that I can’t do this, too. If I am being honest the “Mommy Guilt” that comes along with grad school has been detrimental. The mountains of laundry – impossible. A full time job, a family, pressures. It gets to you. This morning, out of the blue, I got a text from Summer Diamond. It wasn’t just a text. It was a prayer that God placed on her heart for me. A prayer that will get me through my last semester of grad school. It was exactly what I needed at this moment in time. Thank you God for opening doors for me. Thank you for Social Media and the opportunity to use it in a positive way. And thank you so much for using Summer DIamond as a vessel to touch not only my life, but students and teachers everywhere.

2 thoughts on “Social Media: How are you using it?

  1. Spoke straight into my heart ❤️ I’m a homeschool mom of 4 and I’m about to start my masters degree in intstructional tech and I’m NERVOUS! God placed this desire on my heart and scared to walk the path! I’m so blessed by your words! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

