The most important thing

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 2.21.40 PM

By: Daisy Marino

I came up to my classroom today after church so that I could work on the large amount of homework I have due in the next two weeks. When I need a break I just sit and look around my room and start thinking about all the things that I need to do in my class before school starts back. It’s a lot. I need to move furniture around, figure out my centers, start making lists and schedules and get paperwork ready for the first day. All of those things are important. They are tasks that every teacher will complete before school starts back. But are they they most important? Should all of our focus be on “that”. I don’t think so. My main goal this year, the thing that NEEDS to happen before school starts back is getting in the right mind frame before students and coworkers hit those doors. A successful school and classroom should be centered around positive attitudes and morale. The focus should be on making every single student feel like they are important. The same goes for coworkers. When people feel important they work harder. When students know their teacher loves them they are going to try their very best.  I’m excited to get back into the swing of things. I love that I have the best job in the world. Working with kids. Working in a tight community. Working with people that have the same goals and vision that I do. Don’t get me wrong, not everything is always perfect. But my attitude will decide the atmosphere of my class. So if I am having a bad day I need to figure out how to keep that to myself. If someone hurts my feelings, I have to keep smiling for my students. Some days this is going to be really easy, and some days it is going to seem impossible. These kids are going to hit the doors excited in two short weeks, and I can’t wait. These kids need us. One wrong word and we can scar them for life. But one right word and we can change their lives for the better. We can empower them. I want to be the change that some child needs. I want to be a positive force in their life. I want to make a difference.

If you need a little inspiration as the new school year starts look up Angela Maiers and Todd Nesloney on Twitter. See what they are doing with their #YouMatter campaign. It’s easy. Simple. It does not take a bunch of extra work or time……just smile and be kind…those two things can change a child’s life or a coworker’s life. 

Leave a Reply

