FIND YOUR SPARK! Be a firecracker for your students!

2014-07-05 08.40.27FIND YOUR SPARK! Be a firecracker for your students!

It has been a great summer so far! It is amazing to have time to spend with family and friends. It is also time to reflect on the past school year. I have been thinking about the the wonderful things that transpired last year. What can I do differently that will impact my students on whole new level? As teachers we should adapt, change, or modify lessons from year to year. Do not stay stagnant!

I was given the opportunity to attend Ipadpalooza 2014. It was beyond amazing. It is refreshing to learn from different perspectives. I met many amazing educators that I have been collaborating with on Twitter. I think making personal connections with our virtual connections enhances our collaboration. They had such great sessions to bring back home. What I love about this type of PD is that you learn what you want. YOU CHOOSE! I can’t wait to share with my fellow teachers. We have a responsibility of sharing what we know and learn to other teachers!

I’m having the sense that we are a part of something bigger. The times are changing for educators. If we as teachers don’t choose to change, our students will be left behind. I will not fail my students. I will keep learning so my students succeed! Our students need to know more than the 4 walls! Learning is so much bigger than the classroom. Open the walls and give them the choice of direction! As teachers we need to guide, be a leader, and believe in our students. We need to be their cheerleaders and celebrate the successes together!

I have decided to revamp my room. It is going to have an open atmosphere for learning . I have already moved the teacher desk out. I am adding bean bags, lap trays, whiteboards, and collaboration centers. I’m going to use guided math this year. We will have of learning stations!!!

I am looking forward to the next school with an open mind, heart, and lots of excitement. I want my students to have a class environment that is full of collaboration, sense of community, and to know it is ok to make mistakes. We will learn together and build from our mistakes.

I am so excited about the possibilities of a new year. The amazing thing about the journey with students is the road will take us anywhere! It is so much fun to be a learning guide for kids! I hope you join our adventures in the upcoming school year!

2 thoughts on “FIND YOUR SPARK! Be a firecracker for your students!

  1. Reblogged this on Thrasymakos and commented:
    Great post. I think this is one of the many reasons I love education as well as baseball. Realistically or not, there is a chance at ‘rebirth’: correcting old wrongs, strengthening what we do right, & throwing in a little innovation where appropriate. I think hope, if translated as rebirth, is such a strong stabilizer in education. When we internalize this and pass it on to our students (ie. Keep trying & few things are ever final) then they get a second or third wind during the school year.

Leave a Reply

