STAAR Testing from parent’s perspective! by: Angela Moses

There is no end to education. It is not that you read a book, pass an examination, and finish with education. The whole of life, from the moment you are born to the moment you die, is a process of learning.           Jiddu Krishnamurti

 

This is the first year in the last 12 that I am not in a STAAR grade.  This past year I have been teaching 2nd grade.  It has been refreshing and that is me being honest. I am able to educate my students without the pressure of April lingering around the corner.  This morning my third grade son was getting ready for school.   I made him a protein filled breakfast but his nerves had already started taking over.  He barely touched his plate.  He was very quiet and attached to me this morning.  Where was the confident 9 year old I usually see?  WHY??? Why must we do this to our students!   We can’t say it is like a regular school day because they know it’s not.  In my 12 years of teaching 3rd grade, I have witnessed students cry, throw up, and worry themselves into a panic. I don’t feel this is a healthy way to monitor learning! It is important to track our students see how they progress. I know my son has grown since day one of 3rd grade.   I don’t see how causing anxiety from a one day snap shot is the correct answer.  I have always had a hard time watching my students that have anxiety when testing.  Now that I have a child with test anxiety, it just hits a little harder.  I gave him a card this morning telling him that his dad and I are proud of him.  We told him to do his best.  Isn’t that what we want for our children?  We want them to work hard, try their best, and above all believe in themselves.  The state does not realize that they are pulling the confidence and self-esteem right out from under them. I know we have great educators that teach kids from the heart and want the best for all students.  We will continue showing our kids to dream beyond the four walls, to have faith and trust, and to become life learners.  We know learning does not stop in April.  We are creating learning moments that should last a lifetime.  What moments do we what them to remember?

Leave a Reply

