Augmented Reality + Tellagami = One Amazing Scavenger Hunt

Image

Mrs. Marino’s 4th grade 

April will mark one year that I have been a connected educator. One year that I have been a Twitter addict. One year that my class has been flipped upside down. And it all started with augmented reality. I love it. It triggered my a-ha moment when I didn’t understand how Twitter could be so beneficial. I was begrudgingly scrolling through my Twitter feed late one night when I saw a post by Erin Klein about augmented reality. I did not have a clue what it was, but I could not sleep so I read. And I read. And I read some more. It blew my mind. I could not believe that you could do this. That I could do this. I could not believe that Erin was dong this with 2nd graders. So I sat right there (in the middle of the night) and taught myself how to use augmented reality. It looks really tricky and spectacular and people will think you are awesome…but it truly is doable. At that point I did not use tech at all. Unless you count streaming movies onto my SMART board. So, if I can teach myself augmented reality then I feel like anyone can. And you should. You should do it for your students. You want to see them come to life? This is the way. I have created some pretty cool lessons this year with augmented reality. I have been calling it “Learning in 3D” because to me it brings concepts to life for students. It engages them. It makes them excited. They love it. Check out past blogs for other ways I have utilized augmented reality in my classroom. But for now I am going to tell you about the scavenger hunt we did all thanks to Terri Eichholz. I thank you, and so do my students. We truly had a blast.

Here’s how it went down:

I knew I wanted to do an augmented reality scavenger hunt, but I could not wrap my mind around it. I believe we were on the #txeduchat twitter chat that Brad and Drew were hosting when the topic came up. Terri had great ideas and as always did not mind helping me. That’s the thing about your Twitter PLN, we are truly a team. We have one goal, and that is to make our students learning experiences as awesome as possible. I digress. Terri suggested I use the Tellagami app as the overlay (what pops up when you hover the iPad) for my auras. I went in and created 10 different teachers throughout our building a Tellagami. I made the phrases sound like them, the voice, the character…everything. Then I made the triggers. The trigger is what “causes” the aura to come alive. When you hover over the trigger the overlay pops up (in this case the Tellagami video). I used clip art for my triggers. I had a guy working out for the PE teacher, a kid playing on the computer for the computer lab. You get the idea. Each Tellagami gave the students a noun and a verb. Then the Tellagami gave them a clue to figure out where they needed to go next. My students had a chart to fill in their noun and verbs. Let me tell you something, their faces lit up each time we hovered. They loved hearing what noun and verb that particular teacher would give them. They loved figuring out the clue. So how does this fit into my curriculum? When we got back to class they took their nouns and verbs and wrote a creative story about our school. It was so cool. They worked really hard on this, and they really enjoyed it. Did it take me long to make all the auras, and triggers, and overlay? Not really. Plus, I saved them and will use them next year. I can’t wait to see where augmented reality takes us in the future.

6 thoughts on “Augmented Reality + Tellagami = One Amazing Scavenger Hunt

  1. I would love more information on your scavenger hunt! Would it be possible to get a contact email to ask some questions?

Leave a Reply

