Paperwork with a Side of Teaching!

By: Angela Moses

It can be overwhelming sometimes…the daily grind of a teacher! Our plates are a lot fuller or maybe we are just trying to put too many things on our salad plates! Let’s be honest, teachers get overwhelmed and leave within the first 5 years. Why? I think it is something that we need to address. One works hard to become a teacher, and it’s sad that their dream falls through due to issues that can be resolved! It seems like the paperwork keeps adding each year. When are we going to teach? We will be filling out paperwork or meeting about paperwork. Don’t get me wrong, I know we need documentation! We need to be able to show the growth for each student, what interventions does that student need, and goals for success. I know our administration has our students educational success in every decision that they make! Our administration has their hands tied when it applies to a state decision. We all agree that growth is needed for success. I have been teaching for 12 years and I have seen a huge change in the process of documentation. I have had file cabinets full of folders to show documentation on my students. It seems more frustrating for teachers when it is a tested grade level! How many assessments are adequate to monitor a student each year to show growth in reading and math? I feel like we need as much time as possible with our students for teaching. I want the best for my students! I also don’t want to see good teachers that are learning and growing with technology quit because they get bogged down with too much on their plate! How do we learn to balance the plate?

Leave a Reply

