Peanut Butter Jelly Time + Write About This = A Hungry “How To”

20140115-202728.jpg

Mrs. Moses’ Amazing 2nd Grade Class

Not another writing assignment……That’s what they say. Then you hear, how many lines do I have to write? Oh, I can’t think of what to write! It happens every time I start a new writing assignment……except for today! What was different about today? What miracle did I perform that changed 21 students to suddenly love to write? I integrated a wonderful tech tool called Write About This during my writing lesson. We are learning the process of How To’s. The students were required to write the steps of how to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. If you know second graders, you know a few steps will always be left out. It will get interesting when I actually follow their steps and try to make their sandwich. I had the students search and save an image of a peanut butter sandwich. It will be inserted into their Write About This project. I love the option of adding pictures because it allows students to visualize while writing. Before they write, I always have the students close their eyes and think about the process. This helps them organize their thoughts, brainstorm, and see the process. Then they were ready to write. The students were fully engaged and excited about writing. I did not have those questions of confusion! They knew exactly what to write and kept writing. Did they still leave a few steps out….yes….that’s ok! We are moving in the right direction! I can also email the projects to parents. This is a great way to communicate and share with parents.

I love watching the learning moments. I capture them in my heart and my heart is growing each day.

Leave a Reply

