Popplet + The Fox = Not your everyday dance party

Image

Mrs. Marino’s 4th Grade Class

So, today was great.  Really.  We had a lot of fun, and we LEARNED.  Last week on Twitter I mentioned that I was trying to decide what activities to do with quotation marks.  This is a hard concept for most 4th graders.  Especially when the STAAR test splits them into three separate sentences, asks them to fix sentence 5, and the quotation mark is 2 sentences back.  Not fair.  I digress.  Someone on Twitter sent me a lesson based on one of the Pigeon books by Mo Willems.  It was super cute, and it made the wheels start turning in my mind.  What does the Pigeon say?  What does the fox say??  The kids love this song.  So, this is what I did….I told the students that I was about to play a song for our random dance party.  While the song played they could dance, but they also had to think of why I was playing this song.  What did it have to do with 4th grade English?  As soon as the music started they knew, and they were excited.  We danced for a bit, and then went into a discussion about quotation marks.  Then it was time to move on to our Popplets.  By this time in the year they are pros at Popplets.  They know how to manipulate, design and create their own Popplets.  They were given the assignment to write five sentences about what different types of animals might say.  Here are a few of my favorites:

Owl said, “Don’t worry, owl be alright.”

Dog exclaimed, “You better give me back my bone!”

The turtle asked, “Do you want to race?”

There were a ton of cute ones.  They had a blast doing it.  When they finished they were able to email the Popplet to me, and some students even emailed their Popplet to their parents.  It was a fun day.  It was a great learning experience.  I truly believe that they will always remember what the fox really said.

Leave a Reply

