SMART board + White boards = Sweet Simplicity

ImageMrs. Marino’s 4th Grade Class

Do you ever feel threatened by technology?  Up until last March I did, too.  I would see all these wonderful things that wonderful teachers were doing with this wonderful technology…..and I was overwhelmed.  I constantly compared myself to other teachers, and in my mind I fell short every time.  A lot has happened in the last few months, and I am seeing things quite differently.  Just like students learn differently, teachers teach differently.  And that’s ok.  We all have our strengths and weaknesses.  We all have room for improvement, and we all have something to share.  The focus of this blog is to share technology ideas to implement in your classrooms.  We hope that some of our ideas will help other teachers begin utilizing technology in their class.  Or maybe teachers can change up some of our lessons and adapt them to what will work in their class.  We also hope that people will share with us!  That being said, do I do a huge technology production in my class every day.  No way!  We don’t do Augmented Reality every day, we don’t even have all the iPads every day.  Do I use some form of technology in my class everyday…heck yes!!  Why?  Because this is the 21st century, and these digital natives that we call students thrive on it.  They see it, and they are drawn to it.  Technology engages them.  They pay attention better.  The picture above depicts a normal day in my class.  We were going over the difference of they’re, their and there.  I  had my SMART board on, and the students had their individual white boards and expo markers.  I simply wrote a sentence on the board, and they had to fill in the blank with the right “there”.  Simple.  Easy.  But they loved it because I was writing on the SMART board, and instead of using pencil and paper they got to use their own boards.  They love when I draw a big circle on the SMART board and tap it to erase.  They shout out different color markers for me to write with.  It’s as easy as writing on a chalk board.  But without the dust!

Leave a Reply

